Meta-programming with attributes

Topics: C# Language Design
Apr 4, 2014 at 1:43 AM
Edited Apr 4, 2014 at 1:56 AM
Hi C# Team,

First of all, thanks four the great work. Having Roslyn released AND open sourced has put a big smile in my face :)

I'm a developer of a Signum Framework, a framework for building LOB applications with a full LINQ provider wrote for it.

After seeing Anders commenting about meta programming and attributes I've realized that this could potentially solve three places where we have a lot of redundancy on our day to day code:

1. Property getters / setters that implement INotifyPropertyChanged

We require that the properties are set using using a special Set method, that modifies the value but also does other things, like raising a PropertyChanged event, setting the entity as dirty, etc... Because of this we can not use auto-properties.
  string name;
  public string Name
  {
       get { return name; }
       set { Set(ref name, value, () => Name); }
   }
Note: I'm aware that we can use CallerInfoAttributes to avoid the lambda, just waiting to get rid of the Windows XPs out there.

I think this is a common problem, and counting all the projects we have tons of properties like this (500-1000)

I would like to avoid writing the getter and setter, but tell the C# compiler somehow that this property should be expanded in a different way:
  string name;
  [MyPropertyExpander] 
  public string Name { get; set; } = name;
Note: I'm also stretching the new 'read-only auto properties' to 'auto properties with explicit field'.

2. Expression methods that generate expressions lambdas

Often we want to factor-out some reusable method using extension methods:
public static bool AssignedToMe(this TaskDN task)
{
    return task.Worker.RefersTo(EmployeeDN.Current)
}
Because we want to use this method also when querying the database, we had teach our LINQ provider to recognize the following pattern:
static Expression<Func<TaskDN, bool>> AssignedToMeExpression =